The Niagara Escarpment was created by ancient seas and is essentially a cliff that runs through Southern Ontario, from Niagara Falls to Tobermory and beyond. Not surprisingly, it is responsible for numerous waterfalls, the most famous of which is Niagara Falls. Any river or stream that originates above the escarpment and flows towards Lake Ontario or the Georgian Bay is going to fall off the escarpment at some point, resulting in a waterfall.
The Bruce Trail follows the escarpment from Tobermory all the way to Niagara falls, and passes by dozens of waterfalls.
If you travel from Tobermory to Niagara, some of the falls you will pass (in order) are:

1. Indian Falls   2. Jones Falls   3. Inglis Falls    4. Eugenia Falls   5. Smokey Hollow Falls

6. Borers Falls   7. Webster Falls   8. Tews Falls   9. Sherman Falls   10. Albion Falls

11. Felkers Falls   12. Devil’s Punchbowl Falls   13. Beamer Falls   14. Ball’s Falls

15. Rockway Falls   16. Decew Falls   17. Niagara

Click on the link below for stunning photography of the falls mentioned above:


You will also find Keefer Falls,Walters Falls, Hoggs Falls,Cataract Falls, Hilton Falls,Tiffany Falls, Upper Balls Falls and Louth Falls along the escarpment. Many of these waterfalls are reduced to trickles in mid or late summer.
The water that falls off the Niagara Escarpment by means of Eugenia Falls, Inglis Falls, Jones Falls, Indian Falls and Keefer Falls flows into Lake Huron. This means the water is destined to fall over the Niagara Escarpment a second time when it eventually empties into lake Ontario by means of Niagara Falls.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s