GIVE THANKS FOR WATER

With many thanks to Fran Sorin for her inspiring blog, which I highly recommend you read (link at bottom), here are excerpts from, ‘Water: Joy, Beauty and Gratitude…Blog Action Day 2010’

“As a gardener and advocate of sustainable gardening, I thought that writing about water for Blog Action Day would be a no brainer.  Yet, each time I prepared to write about the importance of conserving water, my mind took me back to moments in my childhood; moments in which water played a pivotal role, leaving indelible memories and emotions of joy, love and beauty.

WATER: memories from my childhood.

~ Sights, smells, sounds… Walking through Watkins Glen, a maze of water and a force of nature, mesmerized by the sounds, sights and smells; knowing that I was touching divinity.
~ Watching and smelling torrential rain and hail sitting on the back the car in the garage
~ The ferocious lullaby of ocean waves – All of these scenes have had a significant emotional impact on me….one of beauty, sacredness and love.

Western civilization of the twenty first century overwhelmingly thinks of water as a product to be controlled and mastered in order to serve our needs. And yet, indigenous cultures revere water, understanding that it is the source of life. Prayers for water and Rain Dances historically were, and still are today, an integral part of certain cultures. These cultures intrinsically know that water is a powerful force, a gift from God, not to be taken lightly.

“Rain is grace; rain is the sky condescending to the earth; without rain, there would be no life.” John Updike

We are water.

70% of our bodies is water. As newborns, our bodies are composed of 80% water. As we grow older, the percentage decreases. By the time we die, the % is below 50. Without enough water, we die.

For most of my life, I took water for granted…Today I think about water each time I use or come into contact with it. When I wake up in the morning and step into the shower, feeling the force of water on my back…experience a sense of gratitude. When I go rowing early in the morning or as dusk settles in, I am often stunned by the amount of pollution and things floating in the water (bottles, containers, papers, and God knows what else..). For a moment, I feel a flash of anger and frustration at others total disregard for this narrow, winding river. And yet, like a plant that is infested with insects, I remind myself that the water, regardless of the condition it is in, is inherently a magnificent, mysterious, life-giving force, pure and generous. And I give thanks… 

So, the next time you’re washing off fresh fruits and vegetables in your kitchen, pause, even for a few seconds, and give thanks to water, the source of life.”

Fran Sorin is a gardener, author, broadcaster, and spokesperson. She is the CBS Radio News Garden Contributor, has made dozens of appearances on national TV and written hundreds of articles for USA Weekend Magazine and other national publications.

Our best wishes to you

for a very Happy Thanksgiving.

http://www.gardeninggonewild.com/?p=14344

Leave a Reply

