NATO PETITION ~ ARCTIC COUNCIL ~ WORTHWHILE!!

I’ve copied information I received from care2.com, regarding the petition I signed.  In my collage I’ve included a map of Greenland and Canada to point out the close proximity of the two countries and I find it rather alarming now that China’s interest in the area has been confirmed.

The Arctic Council is supposed to protect this incredible part of the earth from exploitation and destruction. But with climate change melting Greenland‘s waters, China is aggressively looking for a profit from mining and new shipping routes. Yet, it also wants to be an observer on the Council. Talk about conflict of interest!

I signed a petition voicing my concerns to NATO and Arctic Council officials and urged them to make sure they keep protecting the Arctic‘s natural resources.

I know you care about the health of our planet too, so I thought you’d want to join me and sign.

Here’s the link:

http://www.thepetitionsite.com/869/770/954/dont-pave-the-arctic/

Greenland’s once frozen waters are now nearly ice-free. China’s not worried about the effect of global warming on the environment, though. They’re more concerned about getting first dibs on profiting from the area’s decline. 

China’s vying to become a permanent observer for the Arctic Council, a position that would allow them a say in decisions involving minerals and shipping
So far, they’ve been incredibly aggressive in the move to gain unclaimed Arctic regions. China has shown they’re uniquely qualified to access gas and oil sources in tricky locations in the northern Arctic. Since China also has an interest in exploring potential commercial shipping short-cuts through the area, they sent a ship to scout out possible routes.
Allowing countries to use the Arctic for shipping routes and mining will only expose Greenland waters to worse environmental distress.
Urge NATO and the Arctic Council to protect the Arctic and its natural resources!
 
If you did sign the petition thank you so very much.
 
 
10 responses to “NATO PETITION ~ ARCTIC COUNCIL ~ WORTHWHILE!!

  1. I always emailed this weblog post page to all my friends, because if like
    to read it then my links will too.

  2. It is not my first time to pay a visit this website, i
    am browsing this site dailly and get nice data from here every day.

  3. Thanks so much for your kind words – good to know we’re on the right track for providing
    a great variety of subjects for your enjoyment.

  4. Many thanks for your positive comments. It’s great to hear that we are providing
    a great variety of topics for our readers.

  5. Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let
    you know a few of the images aren’t loading properly.
    I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both
    show the same results.

  6. Excellent post. Keep writing such kind of information on your blog.
    Im really impressed by your blog.
    Hi there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I will certainly
    digg it and in my view suggest to my friends.

    I am sure they will be benefited from this website.

  7. I needed to thank you for this good read!! I certainly enjoyed every bit
    of it. I have got you bookmarked to look at new things you post…

Leave a Reply

